Elections & Enrolment

Our City is made up of a number wards, which are each represented on Council by a set number of Councillors. Your ward is your local area for voting purposes and is based on where you live. Council Elections occur every four years and at the time of the Election all of the positions are declared vacant and our next periodic election is due in November 2018. 

Participating in your council election is one of the most direct ways that you can make a difference to everyday life in your local community.

The Principal Member of Council will be elected as Mayor, and seventeen Ward Councillors will be elected from our seven wards.

During 2016 we undertook a review of the size, structure and composition of the wards as we are required to do every eight years. This time around, the review resulted in a couple of minor ward boundary changes which will come into effect for the 2018 Council election.

The adjustments affect Semaphore Ward, Port Adelaide Ward and Parks Ward.The entire suburb of Glanville will now be within the Port Adelaide Ward and the entire suburb of Ottoway will be located in the Parks Ward.

In the event of a Casual Vacancy Council would be required to conduct a Supplementary Election to fill the position.

Should it be necessary for a Supplementary Election to be held prior to November 2018, further information will be available on this page.


For further information on this topic, or if you have any questions, please call our helpful Customer Services team on 8405 6600 or send us an email.
Copyright (c) 2015 City of Port Adelaide Enfield